top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarissa Eppler

I want to be a teacher when I grow up.

Updated: Oct 17, 2019


Exactly one week ago, I went back to work.


So, let me start from the beginning... some of you may know what a whirlwind coming back to America was for us... but we landed on Wednesday at 7 pm. The next day I had an orientation for work (I am a long term substitute teacher in the off-season). Our bestfriends got married, so Friday and Saturday were dedicated to all the wonderful wedding festivities. Sunday I hosted a baby shower with some of my girls. And then come Monday morning, I was walking into a pre-k classroom. All of these activities were done with jet lag and while living on a 15 hour time difference. Some people told me I was crazy... but in reality I was just happy. Tired... sure, that too! But just genuinely thrilled to be there.




I don‘t know if you know what it feels like to struggle with knowing your purpose... but sometimes I do. I love our crazy lifestyle but it’s easy to wonder what I am doing for the good of the world... but when I am in a classroom and there is mass chaos happening... I know that it’s where I am supposed to be. There is nothing greater than a small child picking you a flower at recess or the smile on their face when you leave a good note in their folder. Sure, there are times when they make me question if I want kids of my own (I’m kidding! kind of... haha) but for the most part, they are more than worth the trouble!


Teachers are super hero’s y’all... and I am not saying this because for 4 months of the year, I pretend to be a teacher. I say this because when I do sub, I get to watch some incredibly patient humans do some of the most difficult work known to man. I go in for a few days and I come out tired... no no... exhausted. Physically and mentally worn. I imagine an entire year of school earns them a summer vacation! Because these beautiful people love kids that aren’t theirs. They walk 20+ four year olds around the hallways in a straight line while wearing a “hug and bubble”. *For anyone who has never tried this... let me tell you... it’s like herding cats! There is no perfect way of doing it and there is no instruction manual!* They teach subjects like science to kids that can’t yet write the alphabet. They raise money so every kid in their class can have a book. They are frustrated with rules, regulations, and testing but the kids never know it... all they see is a patient teacher that wants them to succeed. They stay late (with their hair pulled back) to clean out their classroom and wash pillows and blankets when they find one child has lice. They clean up spilled milk and then comfort the child that spilled it while searching for change in their pocket to buy a new one (crying over spilled milk is not a euphemism in elementary school). They sit on the carpet and read books while wearing professional attire. They spend their own money to make sure every child has what they need to survive, not only at school... but sometimes at home. Let me paint you a picture for the next time a school supply list comes out. Imagine going to work and someone didn’t bring what they were supposed to *insert whatever office supply you choose, here*... so you go and buy one for everyone in the office. Half of them break it. The others have chewed on it. Some accidentally took theirs home. One got stolen in the break room. And you just keep going and buying more... because you can’t do your job without them. This is what teachers do everyday with pencils, markers, crayons, colored pencils, glue sticks, scissors... and that’s not to mention the food/ clothes they buy for kids that need it. They stand in pouring freezing rain and brutal scorching heat (sometimes both in one day) to put kids safely in their cars in the carline. They skip lunch to make copies. They stay late to tutor the children that can’t quite grasp the concept being covered. They put lunch money in kids accounts when they have been in the negatives for three days and will have to eat a cheese sandwich. And even though I mentioned earlier that there is no tired like teacher tired... it is so incredible. For every tired minute in the day, there is two minutes of pure pride when a kid accomplished something they thought they never would. It is belly laughs when a child tells you something about their parents that they maybe shouldn’t have. It’s heartache when a child tells you they don’t have a jacket at home but a feeling of pure determination to get that child what they need! It’s a feeling of purpose knowing that these tiny little humans are looking up to you to keep them safe when mommy and daddy aren’t around. I’m truly learning from the best... and one day, when I get that classroom of my own, I’ll be ready! I’ll be ready to do everything from tying shoes and buttoning pants... to doing math problems and talking to parents. I’ll be ready to live my purpose!


So for now, I am tired y’all... but I am so unbelievably happy to be back!



351 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page