top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarissa Eppler

Aren’t you scared?

Welp, we did it. We moved again. This year to Taiwan!


One of the first questions we get asked when people find out we are moving out of the country, “Aren’t you scared? Or worried? Do you know anything about that place?” My response is usually, “I mean, I guess I'm a little nervous. It’s a new place. And new food. And a new language. But even when I’m anxious, we have each other. And that is all we need.” But that’s not what they mean. I know they mean scared of what they hear in the news or read on social media. When we moved to Japan, it was the earthquakes. When it was the Dominican, the water was going to kill us. When  it was South Korea, it was North Korea. Now in Taiwan, it is China. But honestly. No. That is literally not what I am worried about.


We would not move here if we thought we were putting ourselves or our child in danger. And I haven’t seen any Chinese balloons flying over… word on the streets is, America has. But honestly, every single Asian country I have lived in has been clean. Everyone is respectful. The culture is incredible. We have access to healthcare that won’t bankrupt us. Not once have I walked home and worried that someone was going to snatch me off the street. I am vigilant. I am cautious but I don’t go into a grocery store here and have to zip tie Bryn’s pants to the basket or keep a death grip on her ankle because I am worried someone is going to try to take her out of the basket. What is scary is in our own back yard… in America.


This feels like it is going to get real political, or real religious, really quick. But it’s not. I’m not here to force my beliefs on you. I’m just baffled really… and I’m trying to start a conversation. Because I don’t get it. How this keeps happening. No no… WHY we keep letting this happen. I don’t know how to feel.


I wrote this, on Facebook, less than a year ago: “What happened yesterday, is not okay. Children died. Teachers died. HUMAN BEINGS WERE MURDERED. If you are outraged, you should be. But what disappoints me is that we so easily let these lives be overlooked because everyone has their opinion, and feels that it is more important. Everyone thinks they know why this happened. Everyone has someone to blame. I don’t think I can read one more article/ comment about mental health, or guns, or border patrol issues being the reason this happened. Even if those issues did play a part in this tragedy… whatever your agenda is for reading, writing, or sharing those opinions is irrelevant unless you are willing to be part of the solution. Sharing things that “may be true” won’t bring those children back. If you are outraged… I hope it is because someone decided that they could hurt tiny human beings and we as a society allow it to happen over and over. We overshadow the issue. Sure, we also pray, and we donate, and we say we will never forget but then we move on to the next problem that shows up in the news because even though it was awful “it won’t happen to us…” That mentality is how we fail them. OUR KIDS. Time and time again…. by assuming that what comes next in the world isn’t our responsibility. Whether it is in your back yard or across the country… Whether it is an elementary school, a grocery store, or a church… HUMAN BEINGS do not deserve to die at the hand of someone else. Ever. Our babies do not deserve this. Our children deserve more. It starts at home. One person at a time. Love your kids. Love your neighbors. Love the outcast with mental health issues. Love the acquaintance who wants his right to bear arms. Love the border patrol agent even if you don’t like the job they chose. And then teach your children to do the same. Do your part. Because hatred stems from thinking we don’t have to care about someone else because they have a different opinion. Hatred stems from thinking you or your mindset is superior. Evil is everywhere. It is waiting for one little spark of hatred to set its fire. Don’t let it burn.


As a teacher I am horrified. As a parent I am terrified. As a human being I am just really freakin’ sad. It hurts my heart that the political agendas of today are more important than the children who should be our future.”


And I absolutely hate how relevant it still feels. The circumstances of Nashville were different than Uvalde. But the outcome was still the same. Tragedy.


So am I scared?  Heck yeah I am. But I’m not scared to move to a different country. I’m scared of being home full time. Becoming the teacher that I always wanted to be. Because it is not the same profession it was, when I set my mind to it, in the 3rd grade. I’m scared of being away from my child, not being able to protect her. And these circumstances are not for the lack of trying from  the school districts. They are doing what they can with what they have. Security measures are in place. The teachers love their students enough to die for them. Admin knows the protocol. But no matter how prepared… there are bullies, and drugs, and weapons (both legal and illegal), and mental health issues (that our health care system doesn’t cover/ provide help with) EVERYWHERE. No one is immune because they are aware of the issue. I love my country. I love my home. I have so much pride, being from Texas. But nothing is perfect. And as a whole, we are doing something wrong. And sometimes I think moving away solidified that, for me.


In Japan I watched a school of 5-6 year olds walk in a line from the front of the school. ALONE. They would walk a block and stop. One child would filter off. Everyone would wait and wave goodbye. As soon as the door to the house/ apartment building shut they would start walking again. I can’t fathom what that would look like in the states. In Korea I watched an 8 year old take the metro home, by themselves. They knew the stops. They knew when to transfer. I was mind blown… seeing as I was 29 and needed my phone to conquer such a task. Children here in Taiwan come up and speak perfect English. These children are speaking multiple languages. They aren’t saying “You are in our country now. Learn our language”.


How do we get there? Because our kiddos are amazing. They are capable! But instead of teaching them about different languages (not just 2 years in high school), they are having to spend time doing lock down drills. Instead of teaching kids to be self sufficient, we can’t let them out of our site. Imagine a world where our kids are fluent in multiple languages and could talk to kids from different countries. Imagine a world where our children are safe playing in the yard. Imagine a world where teachers can go to work, a job they love, and feel appreciated. *Our teachers aren’t getting enough credit. PERIOD. That’s all I have to say on that matter.*


I’m a parent now, and I am fully aware that I will always be scared of something…. Literally for the rest of my life. That’s part of it. I think it would be, even in a perfect world. But one thing I can control is how I raise her. How I instill love in her. How I treat others, because goooooood gracious… SHE SEES IT. That child is always watching. And so is yours.


And whether the child in your life is yours, or your niece/ nephew, or your friends kid, or a baby watching you at the gas station through the window of a car. It doesn’t matter. They are watching you. They are seeing how we handle these things. How we fight for our babies. How we pray for them. How we make a change. How much we care. That’s how they learn. That’s how they become better than us. That’s how they thrive. They deserve it. Our world deserves it. So be the light, however you know how... And hug your babies. Because both of those actions are just really important.



113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page